The Señorita

THE SEÑORITA Chapter 9

TN: I’m guilty, sorry for the delay of updates. Here it is now, enjoy reading!


9 – Tetay

 

“Just like what I’m telling you, I don’t need another housemaid!”

Tammy’s deep pondering halted as she heard Aling Simang’s angry voice from the living room. Out of curiosity, she tiptoed towards the room and hid in a corner. She saw the old woman scolding another girl. The said girl had long curly hair and a good body build. It seemed she and Tammy were around the same age. From how she looked like, she was begging to Aling Simang.

“Señora, I beg you po. Please let me come back here as a house helper. I won’t run away again without leaving any notice. I really don’t have anywhere to go, and I’m no longer together with my ex-lover.” Tears were evident from the young woman’s eyes and Tammy could see it despite the fact that she was hiding behind a pillar on a corner.

“You are an embarrassment as a woman! After you eloped with your good-for-nothing lover, you dare to come back here?! Well, this is unfortunate for you, Tetay! But I already found another helper and she’s so much better than the you who only knows how to chase after boys!” snorted Aling Simang with her hands on her waist.

Then it so happened that the old woman noticed Tammy hiding from a corner and beckoned her over.

“Come here, hija.”

Tammy obediently came out and went beside her.

“This one is my new helper. When compared to you, she’s so much better. And if you have forgotten, this place is not an orphanage you can simply run away from whenever you feel like it! So forgive this old woman, I won’t let you in again.”

The young woman named Tetay draw nearer to Aling Simang and knelt before her. She even grabbed the old woman’s hands.

Señora Simang, I won’t ever run off again. I won’t also involve myself again in a man-woman relationship with unknown men. I will do my job properly, I promise!” Tetay continued to cry out.

Aling Simang, perhaps we can give her another chance,” said Tammy calmly.

Unfortunately, she was met with Aling Simang’s sharp glares. “Dear heavens, if you only knew! She doesn’t know how to clean properly! She never failed to flirt with the men here as well!”

“I promise, Senora. I will avoid acting flirty towards anyone. I will perform my job to your satisfaction!”  Sobbed Tetay.

Aling Simang turned silent. After a few seconds of contemplation, she sighed and said, “Very well, you can come back. However, I strictly command you to work appropriately.”

Those words made Tetay spring from her feet to hug Aling Simang.

“Thank you po, Señora! I’ll do as you say!”

Tammy brought the young woman named Tetay to her room. The latter will now be her roommate. As of now, they were sitting next to each other on the bed. As Tetay was organizing her sets of clothes, her mood finally improved.

“So you are actually new here?” she asked Tammy while folding her garments.

“Yes, since yesterday.” Tammy picked up one of Tetay’s blouse and folded it neatly.

“Where did you come from and what is your name?”

“Tammy here. Ta – mi. I am from Hong Kong.”

Subsequently, Tammy told her the convenient story she had made up just for whenever her hometown or reason for being her was being asked.

“You’re so pitiful. You were not yet done mourning for your mother but you suddenly had your belongings stolen.” Tetay’s countenance saddened after hearing Tammy’s tragic experiences.

“I can still carry on. Currently, I’m saving money in order to go back to Hong Kong.” Tammy forced a smile. Though deep within her, she was thinking of an entirely different matter.

I hope there is still a way to go back to my era. I also must not forget to solve the mystery of La Señorita, she reminded herself.

“Who brought you in this dormitory?” asked Tetay.

“It’s Manuel, one of the tenants.”

At the mention of the young man’s name, a big grin appeared on Tetay’s lips.

“That one is really good-looking! Even his friends are! Yes, there are many handsome men in this dormitory. And out of all, Emilio is the one I like the most.”

Tetay grinned as she imagined Emilio, the Santo Tomas student taking up Law course. “I have always been trying to chat with him but he had never talked back to me.”

“Girl, he’s one of the silent type, that’s why.” After mouthing that, Tammy suddenly realized that she had a slip of tongue, speaking in the modern way.

“What did you say?” asked Tetay.

“What I mean is, he’s always quiet so maybe he doesn’t like talking much. Grasp the proper timing, perhaps you can win his favour,” she advised.

Tetay suddenly hugged her. “Thank you very much! From now on, I’ll count on you when it’s about him.”

“Didn’t you  just promise not to fool around?”

Tetay laughed. “Ay… I almost forgot! I must first show good results. However, you must help me when it comes to Emilio, okay?”

Tammy could only laugh and stand up. “Let’s go up and help in cooking.”

Days passed and everything was set to its place. Every day, Tammy would wake up at 5 am to assist Aling Aling in cooking. There have been times when she had to wake up Tetay, who was frequently late in leaving her bedding, from her deep sleep. Sometimes Tammy would be the only one left to assist in the morning, and would only be joined by Tetay in the afternoon and evening.

Cooking, dishwashing, doing the laundry, and ironing of clothes – these have been Tammy’s regular tasks together with Aling Simang and Tetay. Eventually, she understood that women didn’t have many options in this time period. If a woman did not end up in this kind of job, they would likely be married off. The only lucky ones were those born in prominent families. Only they would have hope of inheriting family businesses.

As she thought of this, she could no longer chastise Tetay for trying to get close to the men of the dormitory. She reckoned that her newly gained friend was only taking her chances to  experience romance and end up in a satisfying marriage life.

Buenas noches, Señor Emilio!” Tetay playfully smiled at the young man and even bumped with him as she strode towards Tammy. At that time, they were busy arranging the table for the dinner and Emilio had just arrived from school.

“Hey, I saw that!” Dario, who also just arrived, pointed out. “You already promised not to flirt!”

“Don’t be like that, I’m simply giving Emilio my greetings!” replied Tetay.

Dario took the cutleries from Tetay’s hands and put them down on the dining table. “You greeted Ilyong differently. Those smiles of yours, they have a different meaning. And so Ilyong, avoid Tetay lest you want to get poisoned by her stares!” (TN: Ilyong is Emilio’s nickname)

Tammy watched as Tetay sneered at Dario. Emilio was suppressing his laughs as he replied, “She’s no match for me!”

“Oh, did you hear that, Tetay? That’s why you must know how to conduct yourself!” He faked anger as he put the cutleries next to a plate.

“Tetay, help me carry over the huge bowl of sinigang!” From the kitchen, Aling Simang’s voice rang.

“Coming!” Tetay replied. Before scuttling away, she first winked at Emilio and said, “Wait for me, my love!”

Dario shouted at her, “Hey, what’s with that love-whatever!”

Once Tetay disappeared from sight, Dario rolled his eyes and complained, “It’s like it’s her first time seeing a man! What a pant-chaser!”

“I am so handsome, yes?” Emilio smirked, and Tammy burst into laughter.

“Señorita Tami is so much better, a real Filipina maiden! Lady-like, demure, and beautiful!” Dario then wrapped his arm around Tammy’s shoulders.

“That’s not how to treat a woman.” Emilio suddenly appeared beside them and took Dario’s arm off of Tammy.

“Help! Manuel and Juan got beaten up!” shouted a young man from the living room.

“Beaten up?” Tammy was suddenly feeling nervous.

“They were attacked again by those Spanish milkfishes!?” Upon saying this, Dario’s eyes turned red.

He began to run outside the living room and he was followed by Tammy and Emilio.

 


Notes:

po – signifies that the speaker is being respectful

Buenas noches – Spanish for ‘goodnight’

hija – child, daughter

Señorita – Miss

Señora – Spanish equivalent for ‘Mrs.’ or ‘Madam’ (I think Tetay used the term in a more respectful way)

Aling – Filipino honorific for middle-aged woman

sinigang – a Filipino soup or stew characterized by its sour and savoury taste most often associated with tamarind

Image result for sinigang


TL: WS25
ED: Corensi

Prev * TOC * Next

 

Leaving Your Thoughts Motivate Us