The Señorita

THE SENORITA Chapter 14


14 – A visitor

Aling Simang had come back after attending the wedding of her niece. It was fortunate that she didn’t notice the bruises and wounds of the four young men who fought against Aron Sarrael’s group.

They were no longer subjected to those students’ harassment. The four boys could now breathe in relief.

Saturday came. Most of the tenants went home at this day. Tammy woke up just when the whole dormitory was silent, and when she got to the kitchen, she encountered Manuel who was eating his breakfast alone.

She greeted him, “Good morning, Manuel.”

The young man immediately smiled at the sight of Tammy. “Miss. Come and have your breakfast! There’s coffee and bread,” he offered.

She took the seat across him. “I did not notice it was already seven in the morning. Senora Simang oddly did not wake me up.” She grabbed some bread and bit at it. Manuel rose from his feet and poured her a cup of coffee before motioning it to her.

“Thanks.” Tammy reached out for the cup of coffee and sipped some of it. It was quite good, and warm. Just enough to wipe away some of the morning chills.

“Aling Simang purposely left you as is. Tetay was the one she brought with her to the market. As of now, there’s only the two of us here,” Manuel said.

“Where are the others?”

“Dario and Juan went home. Both of them hail from Sampaloc. On the other hand, Ilyong is at Tondo, spending time with his uncle.”

“How about you?”

“Manong Julian will fetch me. He’s my older brother. He’s twenty-three years old, working as a manager of a stockroom in Binondo.” Manuel paused and then added, “The two of us are the only ones together in life. He’s the one supporting my finances and studies. Luckily, his salary as stockroom manager is quite substantial. The owner of the company he’s working in is a Briton.”

“May I know what happened to your parents? I hope you won’t find me offensive,” she carefully worded.

“My mother passed away due to cholera. As for my father, he persisted on sending us to school until he passed away next due to heart complications. We used to be in the middle-class, that’s why Julian managed to finish his study. From henceforth, he made me continue mine,” Manuel narrated.

How sad. She was momentarily covered in melancholy but had gotten it off her mind after a while.

The two of them remained silent while eating their meal. Tammy only opened up her mouth when she remembered the lover of Manuel’s brother, Julian.

She began, “By the way, they say that I look like Senorita Almira.”

“Now that you say that, yes. That was what I told you the first time we met. However, you are very different from her. Just from your mannerisms, you can already become a guy,” Manuel said while laughing.

“You!” Tammy faked a frown.

“Almira is the only begotten daughter of the De Izquierdo family. This fact makes me worry much for my manong. The two of them met each other in a Santacruzan1 around this area and then after a few meetings, they turned into secret lovers. However, Senorita Almira is betrothed to Sebastian Carreon,” Manuel recounted. “Both of them are from rich families, and this makes them a good match. So in other words, my brother and the senorita’s relationship is forbidden.”

“Oh my, Sebastian might come to learn of this!”

“That Sir Sebastian left for Spain five years ago to pursue his study. He only came back this year, and according to hearsay, Almira became cold to him and I know the reason. How I wish Manong Julian is not the one who became her lover.” As he said that, Manuel’s expression was tinged with sadness.

“You should have advised him to break up with her as soon as possible! Before it becomes too late!” Right now, Tammy was feeling anxious for Manuel and his older brother.

“He refuses to listen. Hopefully, when we meet this day, I can persuade him.”

They finished their breakfast and collected the plates they used. They walked into the living room, and just as they stepped foot inside, they heard someone calling out from the outside.

“It’s Manong Julian,” whispered Manuel. He excitedly descended and opened the door. When he went back, a tall man was seen following him. His features resembled Manuel, except he had a lighter complexion. Tammy’s mind immediately exclaimed that the two were really handsome.

“Miss Tammy! Here’s my Manong Juan,” he happily said.

Tammy rushed forward to receive them with a greeting, “ Buenas Dias, Senyor Julian.”

The guy immediately focused his gaze to her and then exclaimed in surprise. “Por diyos, I thought you were Almira.”

Manuel laughed. “They really have the same face, right?”

“Is she one of the housemaids here?” asked Julian.

“Yes po, Senyor. My name po is Tammy. Please have a seat and I will serve you a drink,” she offered.

“Don’t trouble yourself. I won’t stay long. I’m only here to fetch Manuel,” Julian said with politeness.

Tammy gave out a smile. “I’m leaving to give the two of you enough time to catch up with each other.”

“I’ll notify you before leaving,” Manuel smiled at her.

With her head bowed, she motioned toward the dining room. Sad to say, she couldn’t stop herself from being curious so she hid in a corner to eavesdrop on the two. The space between the living room and dining room was quite large so she could still hear what the two were saying.

“I’m doing well with my studies, Manong.” It was Manuel.

“Your grades are high. You made me so proud,” replied Julian to him.

“Manong, I wish you are also doing well.”

“Just fine. When you drop by at home, I’ll cook for you your favorite Adobo.”

“Manong… About Senorita Almira…”

The place went dead silent. Tammy who was hidden somewhere found it hard to breathe as she waited for Julian’s next reply.

“I understand your worries. But I and Almira already made our resolve to elope. I can give her a good life. We’re just waiting for the right moment to execute our plan.”

Manuel yelled to disagree. “It’s like you are stealing her from Sebastian Carreon! This will be a huge mess if both families learn of this! I hope you stop this foolishness before it’s too late .”

“Loving is really foolishness, right?” Julian laughed. “Almira herself told me that she no longer has any shred of affection for Sebastian.”

“If you love her, you won’t put her in danger.”

“Almira will be more endangered if the wedding goes on yet the two of them are not in mutual love.”

Tammy peeked at the scene and witnessed Julian standing up. “Come on, let’s go home.”

Manuel suddenly voiced out. “Manong, I think, for now, I won’t be going.”

“Very well, if that’s what you want. Well, you can take care of yourself. Farewell, my beloved brother.”

Tammy heard Julian’s footsteps reverberating and slowly fading from the stairs. She then moved out of the living room and headed to the kitchen.

Gosh, this is a huge mess if word of this spread to people! I have a bad feeling about this.

 

 NOTES:

 1 – Santacruzan is a religious-historical parade that started in the mid-1800s, with the first being held in Malolos, Bulacan. It is held in honor of Queen Helena of Constantinople and her son, Constantine the Great, finding the True Cross: the cross that’s said to be the one upon which Jesus was crucified. (Source: Primer.ph) 

TL: WS25

ED: Corensi


 

Prev TOC * Next

 

Leaving Your Thoughts Motivate Us