The Señorita

THE SENORITA Chapter 19

19  – The Pretense

“I’m glad you came, Miss Tami!”

Senorita Almira immediately greeted her with a tight hug.

“Thanks! You seem happy to see me,” said Tammy. “Anyway, where’s your mama?”

“She visited a friend. Come, let’s eat snacks! I asked someone to buy us kakanin and hot chocolate.”

Senorita Almira brought Tammy in the azotea. Refreshments and pastries have been prepared atop the small table.

Tammy couldn’t help but smile. “Looks delicious ah!”

They took their seats and began to eat. The two of them were much quieter than when they had their first meeting. Despite this, the Senorita looked obviously cheerful.

Senorita Almira opened the topic. “Are you doing fine in the dormitory?”

“Of course. They treated me well. How about you?”

“Here, feeling down.”

“Why?”

“My arranged marriage with Sebastian is going to be held soon.”

The Senorita’s eyes turned lukewarm.

“Tonight my father will come home and the Carreons will hold a feast in their mansion. The details about our near wedding will be raised later.”

“Senorita… I know Julian is your true love.”

“Precisely, Miss. I repeatedly told Mama and the others that I don’t feel anything for Sebastian anymore. But they insist that I shall wed to him. The most persistent is Papa. He said it’s to hasten the growth of our family business.”

“How about you try rekindling your past feelings for Sebastian? You’ve known each other since childhood. It might be possible,” suggested Tammy.

Almira grew silent. “If only it is that easy. However… however…”

“I don’t want to get myself involve in your messy relationship, but please don’t get angry over this advice of mine,” Tammy slowly added.

They both went silent again until Almira resumed the talk.

“Miss, can you please do me a favour this evening?”

Tammy suddenly got nervous once she heard the word ‘favor’.

“What is it?”

“Can you pretend to be me in the feast later at Sebastian’s place? I’m supposed to meet up with Julian tonight.”

My fear came true.

Tammy could not find the words to say. She realized she was only a dormitory maid, totally incomparable to Senorita Almira. There’s no way she could refuse her.

This was why she has to agree to take Almira’s place, albeit unwillingly.

“Tell me what I have to do. I agree.”

Tammy said it seriously. There’s no turning back.

Almira smiled and stated, “Thank you.”

After the meal, she switched clothing with Senorita Almira. She was made to wear a beautifully embroidered white blouse, partnered with a panuelo. On her lower body was a long rose-colored skirt. Her feet were adorned with a pair of wooden clog.

Senorita Almira raised Tammy’s hair. On her face, a powder-like cream was applied. In her mind, Tammy thought it resembled a chin chan su. Her lips were applied with rouge.

When the makeover was done, Tammy got amazed by the reflection shown to her by the mirror.

Is this really me?

Her gaze went to the Senorita sitting beside her. She whispered, “We really look alike.”

To this, Almira amusedly replied, “People will think we are twins!”

“I feel nervous.”

“I’ll only ask you this once, I promise.” Almira held Tammy’s hand and pressed on it as if calming her.

“Do you really not want to marry Sebastian? Do you really have to elope with Julian?”

“He’s the one I truly want to be with,” Almira declared. “I’ll look for a chance to accomplish our plan.”

“What about your parents? And the parents of your supposed husband-to-be?”

“If only you could take my place and marry Sebastian…” Almira laughed at her own thoughts. “But I know you also have your own life. This evening, pretend to be me. Try to tell them if they could delay the wedding as I’m still hesitating about their arrangements. Because they only want to expand their businesses.”

“Very well.” Tammy’s reply was lacking enthusiasm.

Almira covered herself with the panuelo borrowed from Tammy. “I will be going now. I will do my best for a swift return. Many thanks.”

After that, Almira exited the room.

Tammy rose from her seat and remained staring at her reflection.

Have I been transported to the past because Almira and I are related with each other? Is this still related to my assignment?

Does my father and mother missed for me? What if I am only dreaming? I hope to wake up then.

She pinched herself. And realized this was not a dream. She could feel the softness of her dress. She could smell the burned rice from this residence’s neighbour. And when she touched the mirror’s edge, she felt the smoothness of the wood’s surface.

Tammy wanted to cry, but her sadness could only be hidden.

Is this a terrible nightmare or a never ending dream?

“Almira?”

The door opened and Dona Elena De Izquierdo walked in.

“Mama?”

It’s time to act. Hopefully, I won’t be found out.

Dona Elena spoke up. “Are you ready? Your Papa is already at the Carreon’s.”

Si’, Mama,” Tammy replied politely.

“Let’s go.”

She followed behind Dona Elena and then rode in a bigger and more elegant calash. Sebastian’s mansion was quite far and so Tammy amused herself by staring outside.

No traffic ah. How I miss my world! And even the traffic in the streets.

Wait, are those young men students? They resembled Manuel and the others’ uniform.

Ay,, why is that Guardia Civil beating an elderly?

Oh, I forgot. Some Spaniards are cruel.

“We’re here.”

Dona Elena tapped the hand of whom she taught was Almira. Then the madam descended the calash with the help of the driver. Tammy was following at the back. She was really amazed the moment she set eyes on the beautiful stone mansion.

This is the Carreon Family residence.

Tammy silently went up the stairs together with the Dona. When they entered inside, the place was already packed with visitors.

“Your father, Almira. Pay respect to him.”

Tammy followed Dona Elena’s gaze and there she saw a middle-aged mestizo sitting in the living room. He was conversing with a Spanish gentleman wearing the uniform of a general.

Tammy walked over and said, “Papa.”

Senor Alberto De Izquierdo looked at her and then hugged her. “Almira, hija! I’m glad to see you tonight!”

“Me too, papa,” replied Tammy.

Can’t they realize my voice is slightly different from Almira’s?

She released herself from Don De Izquierdo’s embrace and probed him. He appeared without any other reactions. What a relief.

“Are you feeling hungry?”

“Not really po.”

“Let me introduce you to General Torres. He is one of your godfather in the upcoming wedding.”

General Torres went up and greeted. “Buenas Dias, Senorita Almira!” He held her hand and kissed it.”Eres bella!”

“Gracias, General Torres,” she smiled. Tammy knew he meant she is beautiful.

Dona Elena asked her husband. “Is the talk going to already?”

“We will wait first for Sebastian and his father Leopoldo to be back. It will be while eating.”

Dona Elena nodded. She invited Tammy to sit down in the living room and accompany her friends.

For an hour, Tammy endured the boring conversations of the wealthy madams. She almost did not understand anything since they were all speaking in Spanish. However, she managed to meet Sebastian’s mother, Camilla. In her mind, she joked, My mother-in-law.

Finally, dinner time came. They all sat before a long table. The visitors were rich people. Aside from General Torres, there were even friars in attendance.

“Buenas Noches, Doña Elena.”

Tammy turned her head to the speaker and saw a handsome young man who was with his father.

Gosh, he looks like a celebrity! A pity Almira doesn’t want him. (TN: May I ship the two? Tammy x Sebastian)

“Sebastian!” Dona Elena went to his side. “Almira is here.”

Tammy called out modestly. “Sebastian.” She made out the young man’s surprise when he heard the tone of her voice. But she was more surprised when he gets her hand and kissed it.

“I’m glad you are here,” said Sebastian’s father, Don Leopoldo Carreon. “It seems you are now prepared to marry my son.”

“I’m excited to have you be part of our family,” Dona Camillia stated.

Dinner started once Sebastian and Don Leopoldo took their seats.

Tammy found the ham and other exotic foods delicious. But she had reminded herself not to eat much. A while after, Don Alberto opened up the topic about the marriage.

“Let the wedding be held before February ends. The church, wedding clothes and wedding receptions have already been settled. I think there’s no more problem.”

Almira’s instructions came to Tammy’s mind.

“Papa?” she called out.

Don Alberto turned to her. “What is it, hija?”

“Can we delay the wedding?”

Everybody in the dining room went silent after those words were heard out.

Don Alberto’s forehead creased. “Is something bothering you, hija?”

“I… I’m feeling nervous.”

Am I eligible for the best actress award now? Tammy jokingly asked in her mind.

“Why so, hija?” Dona Elena worriedly asked.

“I wish to get closer to Sebastian again. He’s been away from me for so long,” she answered seriously.

Dona Camilla said, “You’ll get close to him again once the two of you become husband and wife.”

She felt that Sebastian grabbed her hand from beneath the table.

“She is right, maybe Almira is still not ready. Let’s give her some time to have her feelings get closer to me.”

“I can’t wait any longer,” Don Alberto stated.

Don Elena interjected. “Let’s hear them out first.”

“It’s better that they get wedded as soon as possible,” said Don Leopoldo. “I have already considered getting fabrics and building business at Calamba. Surely Don Alberto will be able to help out.”

“I agree with my husband,” Dona Camilla spoke up. “I was also like that before I got married, but it vanished when I got together with Leopoldo.”

Are they really going to push this on?! Wow, a business can really do differently! No wonder Almira turned up like that.

Tammy remained quiet as they resumed eating.

Based on their expressions, she already knew that Sebastian and Almira’s marriage was already set.

This will be a mess if Almira elopes with Julian!

Senorita, please think first!

It will be a pity because Sebastian is quite a ‘papable’! (TN: perhaps a word combi of papa and capable? XD   …It probably means a good boyfriend/husband material)


Prev * TOC * Next

Leaving Your Thoughts Motivate Us