The Señorita

THE SENORITA Chapter 17

17 – A Secret Moment

Tammy and Senorita Almira dined together for breakfast. They happily chatted as they ate pan de sal, tortillas, galletas, and hot chocolate. Because Tammy couldn’t think of any advice, she felt greatly relieved when Almira no longer mentioned the matter about Julian and Sebastian.

The moment they finished eating, Señorita Almira instructed someone to send Tammy back to the dormitory.

“Thank you very much, Señorita,” Tammy smiled at her.

She was hugged by Almira. “I hope you can come visit again.”

Tammy then boarded the calash and waved at Almira just before it departed. Not long after, she arrived at the dormitory. The day was Sunday, so the majority of the students were still not back. They would most likely only turn up in the afternoon.

“How have you been, hija?” Aling Simang greeted Tammy. “Are you feeling well now?”

“Yes, Señora.” Tammy gave out a smile as Aling Simang held her hand. “They treated me well. They even fed me breakfast.”

“Good! We have tons of things to do today. The students will be back, that’s why we have to clean up. But wait, can you already move around?” said the worried old lady.

“I can manage, Señora!” She laughed. Without Aling Simang’s knowledge, Tammy was secretly feeling happy at the fact that the old lady was concerned with her. “I’m ready for the tasks.”

“Very well, let’s begin! The first thing we have to do is change the bed sheets.”

That was what they busied themselves with until twelve noon passed. They ate, and after that, they rested, and then they went back to cleaning. This time, it was the living room.

The afternoon came. Little by little, the number of students showing up after coming from home increased. The first to appear were Juan and Dario.

Buenas dias, Señora Simang! Are there any leftover snacks?” Dario asked happily.

“There are still some. Hurry up before Tammy and I finish them,” laughed the Senora.

Dario and Juan joined their table and silently ate churros and chocolate.

“Manuel and Ilyong are still not here?” asked Juan.

“Yes, that’s what I noticed. Manuel is still not around,” said Tammy.

Aling Simang butted in, “Manuel went home to his older brother to fetch some things. He just left this morning. Hopefully he’ll be back today.”

Tammy and the other two young men could only nod. Once the two finished having their snacks, they each went to their living quarters while Tammy was instructed by Aling Simang to get the sun-dried blankets at the backyard.

Tammy of course followed. When she finally stepped foot on the backyard, the voices of Tetay and Emilio rushed into her ears. She hid herself behind a white blanket and eavesdropped on their conversation.

“Oh, what’s that gumamela for?” Tammy peeked at them and made out Tetay facing Emilio. The guy was holding on a gumamela flower which seemed like it was being offered to Tetay.

trio-of-vibrant-red-hibiscus-flowers-with-bright-yellow-stigma-growing-in-garden-pot-845218812-5abea591119fa80037eef63e

Three bright red gumamelas (or hibiscus)

“Ah… Miss Tetay, I only wish for your forgiveness for the attitude I had shown to you a few nights ago.”

Oh my gosh, Ilyong is so sweet! Tammy suddenly felt moved by the scene.

She watched as Tetay turned her back to him. “Don’t ever think that’s all there is, Señorito! From now on, I will forget my feelings for you!”

“I only seek forgiveness for what happened—“

“Just forget that! It no longer matters to me…”

Tetay was about to walk away but Emilio pulled her and made her turn to him.

“I know I acted wrongly towards you. The truth, is I dislike your fanaticism and fervor towards me. I hope you can pardon my wrongdoings as I know I have failed to understand your feelings.”

Silence pervaded. Tetay hung her head low, like she was tearing up.

“Ilyong… You’re perfectly aware of my feelings for you, and I’m also perfectly aware that you can’t reciprocate it. I accept it now. Just give me time to heal my wounded heart.

This time, Tetay completely cried out. Tammy felt surprised because Emilio embraced the crying woman. They stayed in that position for a long time until he spoke once more.

“Please forgive me, Miss.”

“Emilio… Oh fine, I forgive you.” With tears on her eyes, Tetay met his stare and smiled at him.

“What’s yours will come naturally. In your current state, you won’t be able to love yet. I hope things will get better for you.”

“Maybe you are right. From now on, I won’t bother you.”

Tetay accepted the gumamela from Emilio’s hand. “And thanks for this. But wait, I still have another wish.”

“What’s it?” the young man wondered.

“May I kiss?”

Shock was evident from Emilio’s face while Tammy almost fell from her hiding spot. Thankfully, she managed to grab on to the blanket.

“You’re naughty. You’ve just said you no longer feel anything for me!” he laughed.

Emilio planted a kiss on the woman’s forehead.

“That’s it?” Tetay inquired in irritation.

“Do you still have any other wish?”

“Why on the forehead?!”

“Go get straightened, naughty maiden!” said Ilyong whose grin can no longer be contained.

“This man, really!” Tetay hit Emilio’s shoulder as they began laughing at each other.

The two of them raced against each other until they both disappeared from Tammy’s sight.

The two of them are so cute! Hopefully though, Tetay will be able to get over Ilyong.

Since Tammy had gotten to watch such moving scene, she felt like she won the lottery.


TL: whosays25

Editor: Corensi


Prev * TOC * Next

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leaving Your Thoughts Motivate Us