The Señorita

THE SENORITA Chapter 18

18 – Worries

When night came, Manuel quietly strode into the dormitory. Dario’s group immediately noticed his silent and sad disposition. Even Tammy and Tetay did. They did not utter a sound when they started having their dinner and even after they finished.

As they were cleaning up the table, Tetay elbowed Tammy. “What happened to that one?”

She whispered, “It seems like Manuel is deep in thought.”

Should I talk to him? She wondered.

“Perhaps you can ask what is troubling him?” Tetay suggested.

“I’ll find an opportunity to approach him. From what I last learned, his elder brother came and it appears they quarreled about Julian’s lover,” Tammy narrated.

Tetay almost let go of her hold on the plate. “Gosh. This is what I’m saying!” Tetay then felt that she had raised her voice too much so she leaned over to Tammy and whispered. “There’s most likely a dispute because Julian insists on Señorita Almira. Hopefully, my hunch won’t become reality.”

Tetay walked away and left Tammy flabbergasted.

What is going on in Manuel’s mind? What if our suspicion that it’s about Kuya Julian and Señorita Almira is correct?

The moment she finished what she was doing, Tammy went out to find Manuel. Fortunately, she immediately found him sitting there, looking outside through the windows in the living room. Slowly, she walked over.

“The night is beautiful tonight, no?” Tammy began.

“Oh, it’s you,” Manuel said when he felt the young woman’s presence. He left a space beside him so she could take a seat there.

Tammy flashed a small smile. “You appeared lost in thought.”

“For a young miss, you are really frank and adept in speaking to a bachelor.” Manuel leaned to the window. “Out of all women I know, you are the most plain-spoken. Even a bit playful. I remember when we confronted Alfonso Sarrael’s group. Where did you learn your boxing skills?”

“Oh my, I only know how to speak with men because of my father’s employees. When I was still small, I had always been talking and joking around with them. And I learned my street fighting knowledge because I was taught how to fight. I even got dressed like a boy, which in turn, made me used to moving around like a boy.”

Actually, that was only Tammy speaking nonsense. She noticed Manuel was already taking note of her mannerisms that were quite unlike the women of this era.

Tammy couldn’t help but laugh.

“Your laugh too. It’s a playful woman’s laugh,” Manuel grinned. Obviously, he was getting amused by her.

“Eh, how about you? When I was treating your wounds, you repeatedly held my hand,” the young woman reminded him. She nudged his side. “Tell me the truth, Manuel. You must have been fond of me, no?”

Manuel blushed and looked away.

“Just fess up! Yihee!”

Tammy saw that he became more silent. Oh fine, I won’t force you to confess anymore. Maybe I’m just being assuming. Your fault for being another flirt.

Tammy changed the topic. “Wait, you came from your brother’s house?”

“Yeah. I merely fetched some things. But then, I saw something I should not have. And worse, it’s something I should not have taken away.”

Manuel fished something out of his pocket. It was a folded piece of paper. He spread it out to show Tammy.

It was actually Julian’s letter to Almira.

My beloved Almira,

Please don’t forget our agreement. On the 15th  day of February, 
I will take you away from here and start a new life away from 
the pains you are currently going through.

I will faithfully await your reply.

                            Receive my heartfelt hugs and kisses,

                                           Julian

“Dearest heavens, they plan to elope?”

“Five days from now, they plan to do so,” Manuel answered worriedly. “I have to speak with Manong and stop his stupidity.”

“I’ll go with you tomorrow or the day after, if you want,” Tammy suggested in seriousness. “By the way, when is Señorita Almira’s wedding with Sebastian?”

“On February 18,” he said.

“Can’t they realize, erm, understand what they are currently planning about and the consequences of that?” (TN: Tammy’s slip of the tongue, she said realize in English)

“This is why I must speak to Manong. If only this is easy, but it is not.”

“Worry not. I’ll accompany you. Just give me a heads-up when you plan to go.”

“Many thanks, Miss. Let’s take our sleep.”

Manuel closed the window. As for Tammy, she was already starting to go over her room when the man suddenly appeared before her.

“Oh, what’s the matter?” she said in confusion.

How stunned she was when Manuel leaned his face and planted a kiss on her lips.

She could feel the wild thumping inside her chest.

“You, why did you do that? We-we’ll get done in by Aling Simang,” she weakly muttered.

“This is my answer to your previous inquiry. Miss, you are being liked by me.”

He left with a wide smile on his lips.

Hey, courting first! Kissing like this. You don’t want your big brother to get together with Senorita Almira, yet you dare kiss me like this! How selfish of you! Even so breezy!

Tammy rushed to her shed and tried to fall asleep. Yet the feeling of confusion and something unexplainable reigned over her.

The next day, Tammy received a letter from the postman.

It was from Senorita Almira’s home.

To Miss Tami,

Buenas dias! May I invite you this four in the afternoon to our house? I just want to speak with you.

Waiting,

Almira de Izquierdo

She first thought of asking for Aling Simang’s consent and so she immediately went to her in the living room and showed the letter.

“If so, then I permit you to go. If night catches up to you, request for them to send you back. Surely, they will do it.”

Tammy couldn’t believe Aling Simang’s answer. “You truly consent.”

Aling Simang’s forehead creased. “I did because I want you to speak with her regarding Julian. I noticed Manuel’s troubled face last night. This must be the reason.”

She grabbed the older woman’s hand and said, “Many thanks po.” Then she hurried to get her unfinished tasks done.

Just when Tammy was about to leave this afternoon, Dario and Juan chanced upon her.

“Where are you going?” Dario asked. They were going up the dormitory while Tammy was rushing down.

“To Señorita Almira’s. She called for me,” she replied. “She’s probably looking for someone to talk to.”

Juan excitedly stated, “Good! Tell her to split up with Julian for Manuel’s worries to fritter away!”

“That’s also what Aling Simang has instructed. She said to speak with her.”

“Sigh, a forbidden love is truly difficult!” Dario spoke up as if citing a line from a poem. “Go ahead while we tell this to Manuel. May the Creator’s blessings be with you.”

Dario made a sign of the cross for her before letting her go.

Tammy rode in a calash going to Binondo. She pondered on why the Senorita suddenly wanted to meet up with her. She thought, maybe the other woman was really feeling melancholic.

How she wished she could find an opportune time later to advise her about Julian and the possible things that might happen if the two of them really were to elope.

What kind of mess have I entangled myself with?

For the very first time, Tammy felt a very strong urge to go back to her real timeline. Sad to say, she could feel that it was still a very impossible matter as of now.

Manuel also crossed her mind. She was aware of how he liked her as well, and that’s how she felt for him too.

But she must suppress her feelings, like how she must stop Señorita Almira from enacting her plans with Julian.

She couldn’t let Manuel know about her real identity. What if she suddenly wanted to go back to the future?

And what if a chaotic mess suddenly came about due to Julian and Almira?


TL: whosays25

Editor: Corensi


Prev * TOC * Next

Leaving Your Thoughts Motivate Us